EAM Hospital Awards

Sixteen hospitals earn patient safety award

Honors go to hospitals throughout Michigan

March 13, 2019 – In observing National Patient Safety Awareness Week, the EAM announces the recipients of the 2019 EAM Hospital Patient Safety Awards, recognizing hospitals in Michigan consistently performing high marks and improvements in patient safety and quality of care. This marks the fourth year for the awards.

Hospitals can achieve two different awards, the Excellence Award and the Improvement Award.

Hospitals receiving the Excellence Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2017 and 2018) and maintain all “A’s” with Hospital Safety Grade in four consecutive grading terms (Spring 2017, Fall 2017, Spring 2018, Fall 2018).

Hospitals receiving the Improvement Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2017 and 2018) and show improvement in letter grades for four consecutive grading terms with Hospital Safety Grade (Spring 2017, Fall 2017, Spring 2018, Fall 2018). During the four terms, the grades must not trend backwards year-to-year. The last term grade (Fall 2018) must be at least a “B” to qualify and hospitals must improve by two letter grades during the four terms.

Eight hospitals receiving the Excellence Award:

  • DMC Huron Valley-Sinai, Commerce Township (four years in a row)
  • Michigan Medicine, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (four years in a row)
  • Spectrum Health Lakeland, St. Joseph
  • Spectrum Health Ludington Hospital (two years in a row)
  • Spectrum Health United Hospital, Greenville
  • Spectrum Health Zeeland Community Hospital
  • St. Joseph Mercy Chelsea (two years in a row)
  • St. Joseph Mercy Oakland, Pontiac

Eight hospitals receiving the Improvement Award:

  • Covenant HealthCare, Saginaw
  • DMC Harper-Hutzel Hospital, Detroit
  • Garden City Hospital
  • Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit
  • Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital
  • Mercy Health Saint Mary’s, Grand Rapids
  • Munson Healthcare of Cadillac
  • UP Health System Marquette

“The EAM is honored to recognize these hospitals striving to make Michigan a safer place to live and work,” said Bret Jackson, president, EAM. “When hospitals make mistakes, it adds cost to the patient’s bill and length to a hospital stay. Improving patient safety will contribute to lower health care costs, which in turn, will help employers create more jobs and higher wages.”

How does your hospital score for patient safety?  Find out at www.hospitalsafetygrade.org.

List of Winners Past and Present 2019


%d bloggers like this: