Hospital Patient Safety Awards


During the annual National Patient Safety Awareness Week in March, the Economic Alliance for Michigan (EAM) announces the recipients of the Hospital Patient Safety Award to  Michigan hospitals.  The Hospital Patient Safety Award recognizes hospitals in Michigan consistently performing high-marks and improvements in patient safety and quality of care.  Hospitals can earn two different awards:  the Excellence Award and the Improvement Award.

Five hospitals received the 2016 Excellence Award:

  • Dickinson County Healthcare System in Iron Mountain
  • DMC Huron Valley-Sinai Hospital in Commerce Township
  • Mercy Health Saint Mary’s in Grand Rapids
  • St. Mary Mercy Hospital in Livonia
  • University of Michigan Health System in Ann Arbor

Three hospitals earned the 2016 Improvement Award:

  • McLaren Hospital in Flint
  • Mercy Health Hackley Campus in Muskegon
  • MidMichigan Medical Center in Midland

“Hospital mistakes and acquired infections cost consumers and health purchasers billions of dollars each year.  Hospitals who maintain a high standard of patient safety and hospitals who implement standards to improve patient safety contribute to lower health care costs for the state,” said Bret Jackson, EAM President.  “The hospitals receiving this award have demonstrated their dedication and determination in providing a safe environment for the residents of Michigan.”

Hospitals receiving the Excellence Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2014 & 2015) and maintain all “A’s” with Hospital Safety Score in four consecutive grading terms (Spring 2014, Fall 2014, Spring 2015, Fall 2015).

Hospitals receiving the Improvement Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2014 & 2015) and show improvement in letter grades for four consecutive grading terms with Hospital Safety Score (Spring 2014, Fall 2014, Spring 2015, Fall 2015).  Also, hospitals must have a positive percentage change in the year-to-year average grade.  The last term grade (Fall 2015) must be at least a “B” to qualify and hospitals must improve by two letter grades during the four terms.

“The EAM encourages everyone to know before you go.  Researching hospitals before a hospital stay or procedure may prevent a hospital acquired infection and may save you money,” stated Jackson.

For more information about hospitals and safety ratings please visit

%d bloggers like this: